I wish the world was more like a Zumba class

Over the past four years, my favorite place on campus has been the Rec. Good day or bad day I could always find a reason to go there. I’ve taken belly dancing, abs class, salsa, Bootylicious, hip hop aerobics, and nothing bring me joy like a good hard Zumba workout. If you ever wondered what diversity looks like peep your head into room 104 at 12:10 or 5:30pm.

You would see people dancing without a care in the world. Men and Women of all shapes, sizes, ethnicities, ages, majors and sexual orientations. It’s one of the few places in higher education where you won’t find yourself put into a box. No one is talking about what sorority they’re in, or how much their parents make and no one is judging you no matter how bad you think your dancing is. I’m not sure why doing squats to a T.I song and doing the cumbia generate a universal sense of belonging, but it does and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

One thought on “I wish the world was more like a Zumba class

  1. Great post! and you are absolutely right. Zumba class is where you can be yourself without a care in the world… you just feel the music and enjoy yourself! I love the diversity and openness of the Zumba peeps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

